Closeup of Ben Franklin on a hundred dollar bill
Also from Cato

Alt‐​M: Ideas for an Alternative Monetary Future

Welcome to Alt‐​M, a community devoted to exploring and promoting ideas for an alternative monetary future. Our goal is to reveal the shortcomings of today’s centralized, bureaucratic, and discretionary monetary arrangements, and to bring serious consideration of real alternatives to the center stage of current monetary and financial reform debates.

Featured Book Forum

Engine of Inequality: The Fed and the Future of Wealth in America

Book Forum | March 4, 2021

Following the 2008 financial crisis, the Federal Reserve’s monetary policy placed much greater focus on stabilizing the market than on helping struggling Americans. As a result, the richest Americans got a lot richer while the middle class shrank and economic and wealth inequality skyrocketed. George Selgin, director of the Cato Institute’s Center for Monetary and Financial Alternatives, interviewed Karen Petrou on her new book, Engine of Inequality: The Fed and the Future of Wealth in America, and the pragmatic solutions inside for creating more inclusive monetary policy and equality‐​enhancing financial regulation as quickly and painlessly as possible.

Sign up for the Big Change Newsletter

Receive weekly updates from the Center for Monetary and Financial Alternatives.

Center Staff

Nicholas Anthony
Manager, Center for Monetary and Financial Alternatives
James A. Dorn

Vice President for Monetary Studies, Senior Fellow, and Editor of Cato Journal

Amanda Griffiths
Editorial Director, CMFA and Managing Editor of the Cato Journal
Jennifer J. Schulp

Director of Financial Regulation Studies, Center for Monetary and Financial Alternatives

George Selgin

Senior Fellow and Director, Center for Monetary and Financial Alternatives

Nikhil Sridhar

Research Associate

Todd Zywicki

Senior Fellow

Our Experts

John A. Allison

Former President and CEO

David Beckworth
Adjunct Scholar
C. Wallace DeWitt
Adjunct Scholar, Center for Monetary and Financial Alternatives
Kevin Dowd
Adjunct Scholar
Bert Ely
Adjunct Scholar
Tyler Goodspeed
Adjunct Scholar
Steve H. Hanke

Senior Fellow and Director, Troubled Currencies Project

Jeffrey Rogers Hummel
Adjunct Scholar
William J. Luther
Adjunct Scholar
Dan Quan
Adjunct Scholar
Lawrence H. White
Senior Fellow
Randall Wright
Senior Fellow

Executive Advisory Council

  • John A. Allison, Chair, Executive Advisory Council, Center for Monetary and Financial Alternatives, former President and CEO, Cato Institute, and former Chairman and CEO, BB&T Corporation
  • Sean Fieler, President of Equinox Partners, L.P. and the Kuroto Fund, LP
  • Robert Gelfond, CEO and Founder, MQS Management
  • James Grant, Founder and Editor, Grant’s Interest Rate Observer
  • Richard Kovacevich, Chairman Emeritus, Wells Fargo and Co.
  • Robert L. Luddy, Founder and CEO, CaptiveAire
  • George Melloan (1927–2020, served 2014–2020), former Deputy Editor, Wall Street Journal
  • Judy Shelton, United States Director, European Bank for Reconstruction and Development
  • Jeffrey S. Yass, Managing Director, Susquehanna International Group

Council of Academic Advisors

  • Leszek Balcerowicz, Professor of Economics, College of Europe; former Chairman of the National Bank of Poland, and former Finance Minister and Deputy Prime Minister
  • Guillermo Calvo, Professor of Economics and Director of the Program in Economic Policy Management, Columbia University
  • Kenneth French, Carl E. and Catherine M. Heidt Professor of Finance, Tuck School of Business, Dartmouth College
  • Edward J. Kane, Professor of Finance, Boston College
  • George Kaufman, (1933–2020, served 2014–2020), John F. Smith Jr. Professor of Finance and Economics, Loyola University Chicago
  • David Laidler, Professor Emeritus (Economics), University of Western Ontario
  • Bennett T. McCallum, H. J. Heinz Professor of Economics, Carnegie Mellon University
  • J. Huston McCulloch, Professor Emeritus, Ohio State University, and Adjunct Professor, New York University
  • Ronald McKinnon (1935–2014, served 2014–2014), William B. Eberle Professor of Economics, Stanford University
  • Vernon L. Smith, Nobel Laureate (Economics) and Professor of Economics, Chapman University
  • John B. Taylor, Mary and Robert Raymond Professor of Economics, Stanford University
  • Richard H. Timberlake, (1922–2020, served 2014–2020), Professor Emeritus (Economics), University of Georgia
  • William R. White, former Chairman, Economic Development and Review Committee, OECD (Paris) andformer Economic Adviser and Head of the Monetary and Economic Department, Bank for International Settlements
  • Geoffrey Wood, Professor Emeritus (Monetary Economics), University of Buckingham
  • Randall Wright, Ray Zemon Professor of Liquid Assets and Professor of Economics, University of Wisconsin‐​Madison
  • Leland B. Yeager (1924–2018, served 2014–2018), Professor Emeritus (Economics), Auburn University and University of Virginia