The Passion and Practice of Liberty

Book Forum
June 19, 2003
5:00PM to 7:00PM EDT
Auditorium/Wintergarden
Featuring Tibor R. Machan, Author, The Passion for Liberty; and Philip D. Harvey, Author, Government Creep: What the Government Is Doing That You Don’t Know About.
Two new books take a close look at threats to our individual freedom, both philosophical and practical. Philosopher Tibor Machan defends a libertarian conception of the free society and argues that it is worthy of passionate defense. In the tradition of John Locke, Adam Smith, Ayn Rand, and Robert Nozick, Machan argues that a society that secures the right to liberty is the best possible ideal for humans. In doing so, he addresses specific issues such as affirmative action, abortion, military intervention, and the relationship between liberty and democracy. In Government Creep, which is packed with chilling stories of overweening government power, businessman and philanthropist Phil Harvey looks at liberties that are being infringed today. Join us for an exhilarating exchange of ideas.