21st Annual Monetary Conference: The Future of the Euro

Cosponsored with The Economist

November 20, 2003 10:00 AM to 7:15 PM EST

Renaissance Hotel, Washington, D.C.

Speakers include Alan Greenspan, James M. Buchanan, Vito Tanzi, Mickey Levy, George Tavlas, and Roland Vaubel, among others.

Join the conversation on Twitter using #CatoEvents. Follow @CatoEvents on Twitter to get future event updates, live streams, and videos from the Cato Institute. If you have questions or need assistance registering for the event, please email our staff at events@​cato.​org.

Conference Schedule

8:00–9:00 a.m. Registration—Renaissance Foyer
9:00–9:10 a.m. Welcoming Remarks

James A. Dorn
Vice President for Academic Affairs, Cato Institute

9:10–9:45 a.m. Keynote Address

Alan Greenspan
Chairman, Federal Reserve Board of Governors

9:45–11:00 a.m. Panel 1: Global Monetary Order and the Euro

Moderator—Zanny Minton‐​Beddoes
Economics Correspondent, The Economist

Kenneth Rogoff
Professor of Economics, Harvard University
former Chief Economist, International Monetary Fund

Anna J. Schwartz
Research Associate, National Bureau of Economic Research

David Hale
Founder, Chicago‐​based Hale Advisors, LLC

Leland B. Yeager
Ludwig von Mises Distinguished Professor of Economics (Emeritus), Auburn University

11:00–11:15 a.m. Break
11:15 a.m.–12:30 p.m. Panel 2: Fiscal Policy, Pension Reform, and the Future of the Euro

Moderator—Mary Anastasia O’Grady
Editor, “The Americas” Column, Wall Street Journal

José Piñera
President, International Center for Pension Reform
Distinguished Senior Fellow, Cato Institute

Laurence J. Kotlikoff
Professor of Economics, Boston University

Vito Tanzi
Former Undersecretary of State, Ministry of Economy and Finance, Italy

Mickey Levy
Chief Economist, Bank of America

12:30–1:15 p.m. Luncheon—Renaissance Ballroom, East Salon
1:15–2:00 p.m. Luncheon AddressConstitutional Efficiency and the ECB

James M. Buchanan
Nobel Laureate in Economics, Distinguished Professor Emeritus of Economics, George Mason University

2:00–3:15 p.m. Panel 3: The Costs and Benefits of Entering the Euro Zone

Moderator—Steve H. Hanke
Professor of Applied Economics, The Johns Hopkins University
Senior Fellow, Cato Institute

Patrick Minford
Professor of Economics, University of Wales at Cardiff

George Tavlas
Research Director, Bank of Greece
Alternate to the Governor, Bank of Greece on the ECB’s Governing Council

Pedro Schwartz
Professor of Economics, Universidad Autónoma de Madrid

Lars Jonung
Economic Adviser, Directorate‐​General for Economic and Financial Affairs, European Commission

3:15–3:30 p.m. Break
3:30–4:45p.m. Panel 4: Will the European Monetary Union Survive?

Moderator—Gerald P. O’Driscoll Jr.
Senior Fellow, Cato Institute

Roland Vaubel
Professor of Economics, Mannheim University

Michael Bordo
Professor of Economics, Rutgers University

William A. Niskanen
Chairman, Cato Institute

4:45–5:15 p.m. Closing Address

Václav Klaus
President, Czech Republic

5:15–6:15 p.m. Reception—Renaissance Ballroom, East Salon
Media Name: shim.gif
Media Name: shim.gif
Media Name: lower-left.gif
Media Name: shim.gif
Media Name: lower-right.gif
Media Name: shim.gif

About the Conference | Conference Program