The Milton Friedman Prize


May 21, 2014 • New York City • Waldorf-Astoria Hotel

2014 Award Recipient

Leszek BalcerowiczLeszek Balcerowicz, former Deputy Prime Minister and Finance Minister of Poland, will receive the 2014 Milton Friedman Prize for Advancing Liberty, a $250,000 biennial award presented to an individual for achievement in promoting freedom and individual liberty.

Balcerowicz has been widely credited with the economic transformation of Poland. He liberalized the prices of most consumer goods and initiated sound fiscal and monetary measures designed to balance the budget and end hyperinflation.

The Milton Friedman Prize for Advancing Liberty, named in honor of perhaps the greatest champion of liberty in the 20th century, is presented every other year to an individual who has made a significant contribution to advance human freedom. The prize, a cash award of $250,000, will be presented at the Milton Friedman Prize for Advancing Liberty’s Biennial Dinner on May 21, 2014, in New York City at the Waldorf-Astoria Hotel.

This year’s prize will be presented by former U.S. Senator Phil Gramm. An economist and politician, he represented the state of Texas as a Congressman from 1979 to 1985, and as a Senator from 1985 to 2002.

The late Nobel laureate Milton Friedman agreed in 2001 to lend his name to the prize, which has become the leading international award for acknowledging contributions to the promotion of individual liberty. In a statement at the time he said: “Those of us who were fortunate enough to live and be raised in a reasonably free society tend to underestimate the importance of freedom. We tend to take it for granted. It has made us in the West more complacent, so having a prize emphasizing liberty is extremely important.” Dr. Friedman died in 2006.

Garry Kasparov • Keynote Speaker at the 2014 Dinner

Garry Kasparov Garry Kasparov, former world chess champion, Russian pro-democracy leader, and global human-rights activist will deliver the Keynote Address at the 2014 Friedman Prize Dinner. Kasparov first gained international fame as the youngest world chess champion in history in 1985 at the age of 22. After retiring from professional chess in 2005, he rapidly became a vital part of the Russian pro-democracy movement against the repressive regime of Vladimir Putin. He formed the United Civil Front, of which he is still the chairman, and co-led The Other Russia coalition that focused on uniting the Russian opposition to Putin under the banner of free and fair elections. His advocacy of liberty and democracy has become a global pursuit, as he travels and writes extensively.

May 21, 2014 • New York City • Waldorf-Astoria Hotel

Reception at 6:30 p.m.
Dinner at 7:30 p.m.
Black Tie

Online registration for this event is closed.
If you are interested in attending the event, please email Jenna Huhn jhuhn [at] cato [dot] org or call 202-218-4617.

Members of the International Selection Committee for the 2014 Prize:

John A. Allison
President, Cato Institute
Retired Chairman & CEO, BB&T

David Friedman
Professor of Law,
Santa Clara University

Giancarlo Ibárgüen
Board of Trustees,
Universidad Francisco Marroquín

Václav Klaus
Distinguished Senior Fellow,
Cato Institute
Former President, Czech Republic

Mao Yushi
Recipient, 2012 Milton Friedman
Prize for Advancing Liberty

Leo Melamed
Chairman Emeritus, CME Group
Chairman, Melamed & Associates

Mary Anastasia O’Grady
Member, Editorial Board,
Wall Street Journal

Parth Shah
Founder & President,
Centre for Civil Society

Vernon L. Smith
Nobel laureate
Professor of Economics and Law, Chapman University

For further information about the Milton Friedman Prize for Advancing Liberty’s Biennial Dinner, please contact Jenna Huhn at jhuhn [at] cato [dot] org or 202-218-4617.

Friedman Prize