The Milton Friedman Prize


The Milton Friedman Prize for Advancing Liberty, named in honor of perhaps the greatest champion of liberty in the 20th century, is presented every other year to an individual who has made a significant contribution to advance human freedom. The prize, a cash award of $250,000, is presented at the Milton Friedman Prize for Advancing Liberty’s Biennial Dinner, generally held in May of the award year.  The next Prize will be awarded in May, 2016.

The late Nobel laureate Milton Friedman agreed in 2001 to lend his name to the prize, which has become the leading international award for acknowledging contributions to the promotion of individual liberty. In a statement at the time he said: “Those of us who were fortunate enough to live and be raised in a reasonably free society tend to underestimate the importance of freedom. We tend to take it for granted. It has made us in the West more complacent, so having a prize emphasizing liberty is extremely important.” Dr. Friedman died in 2006.

The Prize recipient is selected by a distinguished International Selection Committee. Members of the Committee for the most recent Prize (awarded in May, 2014) were:

John A. Allison
President, Cato Institute
Retired Chairman & CEO, BB&T

David Friedman
Professor of Law,
Santa Clara University

Giancarlo Ibárgüen
Board of Trustees,
Universidad Francisco Marroquín

Václav Klaus
Distinguished Senior Fellow,
Cato Institute
Former President, Czech Republic

Mao Yushi
Recipient, 2012 Milton Friedman
Prize for Advancing Liberty

Leo Melamed
Chairman Emeritus, CME Group
Chairman, Melamed & Associates

Mary Anastasia O’Grady
Member, Editorial Board,
Wall Street Journal

Parth Shah
Founder & President,
Centre for Civil Society

Vernon L. Smith
Nobel laureate
Professor of Economics and Law, Chapman University

For further information about the Milton Friedman Prize for Advancing Liberty's Biennial Dinner, please contact Jenna Huhn at or 202-218-4617.

Friedman Prize