22nd Annual Monetary Conference: International Monetary Reform and Capital Freedom

Cosponsored with The Economist

October 14, 2004 8:00 AM to 7:00 PM EDT

1st floor/Wintergarden

Featuring Ben S. Bernanke, Member, Federal Reserve Board of Governors; Raghuram Rajan, Director of Research, International Monetary Fund; Kristin J. Forbes, Member, Council of Economic Advisers; and Leszek Balcerowicz, President, National Bank of Poland.

Conference Schedule

8:00 — 9:00 a.m. Registration – F.A. Hayek Auditorium Foyer
9:00 — 9:10 a.m. Welcoming Remarks
F.A. Hayek Auditorium

James A. Dorn
Vice President for Academic Affairs
Cato Institute

9:10 — 9:45 a.m. Keynote Address – Monetary Policy in a World of Mobile Capital

Ben S. Bernanke
Federal Reserve Board of Governors

9:45 — 11:00 a.m. Panel 1: Institutional Reform and Sovereign Debt Crises: What Next?

Moderator: Zanny Minton Beddoes
Economics Correspondent
The Economist

Allan H. Meltzer
Former Chairman
International Financial Institution Advisory Commission, U.S. Congress

Raghuram Rajan
Economic Counsellor and Director of Research
International Monetary Fund

Adam Lerrick
Gailliot Center for Public Policy, Carnegie Mellon University

Kenneth Rogoff
Professor of Economics
Harvard University
Former Chief Economist
International Monetary Fund

11:00 — 11:15 a.m. Break
11:15 a.m. — 12:30 p.m. Panel 2: Exchange Rate Regimes and Capital Freedom in Emerging Markets

Moderator: Manuel Suárez‐​Mier
Head of Latin American Economics
Bank of America

Nicholas R. Lardy
Senior Fellow
Institute for International Economics

David F. DeRosa
DeRosa Research and Trading, Inc.

Manuel Sánchez
Chief Economist
BBVA Bancomer, Mexico City

Leland B. Yeager
Ludwig von Mises Distinguished Professor of Economics (Emeritus)
Auburn University

12:30 — 1:15 p.m. Luncheon – Winter Garden
1:15 — 2:00 p.m. Luncheon Address – Capital Controls: Mud in the Wheels of Market Efficiency

Kristin J. Forbes
Council of Economic Advisers

2:00 — 3:00 p.m. Panel 3: Dealing with “Exchange Rate Protectionism”

Moderator: Ian Vasquez
Director of the Project on Global Economic Liberty
Cato Institute

Anna J. Schwartz
Research Associate
National Bureau of Economic Research

David Malpass
Chief Economist
Bear Stearns

Richard H. Clarida
Professor of Economics and International Affairs
Columbia University
Former Assistant Secretary of the Treasury

3:00 — 3:15 p.m. Break
3:15 — 4:15 p.m. Panel 4: Financial Integration and Dollarization

Moderator: Mary Anastasia O’Grady
Editor, “The Americas” Column
Wall Street Journal

Steve H. Hanke
Professor of Applied Economics
The Johns Hopkins University

Juan Luis Moreno Villalaz
Economic Advisor
Ministry of Economics and Finance, Panama

George Selgin
Professor of Economics
University of Georgia

4:15 — 5:00 p.m. Closing Address – Transition to the Euro

Leszek Balcerowicz
National Bank of Poland

5:00 — 6:00 p.m. Reception – Winter Garden
Media Name: shim.gif
Media Name: shim.gif
Media Name: lower-left.gif
Media Name: shim.gif
Media Name: lower-right.gif
Media Name: shim.gif

Registration for this event is closed.

| About the Conference | Conference Program |